Oil Pulling with Essential Oils – Why you should make it a part of your daily routine!

Shortly after my son was born I joined a Natural mom’s page on Facebook. I was looking for breast feeding advice, but these “crunchy” moms as they called themselves, introduced me to a new style of parenting. From organic food to cloth diapers, and even my first introduction into Essential Oils. Some of the information I incorporated into my own life, while some of it was not right for my family. Oil pulling was one of the things I initially dismissed, and honestly thought was a little crazy. I could not see how swishing Coconut or Olive oil in your mouth for ten to twenty minutes could improve my health or help with the tooth pain I suffered from. The more I got involved in the crunchy community, the more people I saw talking about oil pulling. Articles would fill my news feed about the benefits and personal testimonies. At this time coconut oil had become a staple in my life for cooking, homemade lotions and diaper cream so I thought I had nothing to lose. Turns out what I had dismissed as crazy was actually brilliant.

Oil pulling is actually an oral care practice that dates back 3,000 years. The practice is very simple, you swish about a tablespoon of coconut, sunflower, or olive oil around your mouth for approximately twenty minutes, and then spit it out. Unlike many home remedies there is sound science behind oil pulling.  The fats in these particular oils pick up the bacteria and microorganisms in your mouth by the fatty membrane that surrounds them. They are trapped in the oil and removed from your mouth when you spit out the oil. Coconut oil also has the added benefit of being a known anti-microbial, which is why it is the most recommended oil for oil pulling. For these reasons studies have shown that oil pulling can help fight gingivitis, bad breath and plaque. It has even been show to help speed up the healing time of cold sores.

oil-pulling-benefits-oral-health-640x6401

I had been doing oil pulling for about six months when I became introduced to Young Living Essential Oils. I had already seen great benefit from oil pulling. Left over gingivitis for my pregnancy was gone, and I noticed that the cold sores I occasionally suffered from lasted for shorter periods of time. However my tooth pain was still present. The more research I did on Essential Oils the more I realized I could improve on my oil pulling. Along with my coconut oil in the morning I added a drop of Thieves Essential Oil. Thieves is an anti-microbial, anti-viral and an antiseptic. Not only did adding Thieves help relieve my tooth pain I have not had a cold sore since adding to it my daily oil pulling routine.

Thieves (1)

To get started with oil pulling the first thing you need to do is find an oil that works for you. I use coconut oil not only for the anti-microbial properties, but because I enjoy the taste. If you don’t find coconut oil appealing you can use olive, sesame or almond oil instead. I would also recommend starting with an amount smaller than a Tablespoon. I cannot comfortably swish an entire Tablespoon in my mouth, so I use less. You can also make oil pulling chews, I have shared the recipe below.  Start with small time frames such as five minutes and work your way up to around twenty minutes. I start my day with a shower, and simply do my oil pulling while I am in the shower and spit it out when I am finished. Along with Thieves, clove, cinnamon and peppermint are great oils to add to you oil pulling routine.

Coconut Oil Pulling Chews

Coconut-oil-oil-pulling-chews-with-essential-oils

Prep time: 5 mins

Total time: 5 mins

 Small bite-sized coconut oil chews with essential oils that are perfect for oil pulling.   Author: Wellness Mama

Ingredients

  • ½ cup coconut oil
  • 20-30 drops of essential oil (peppermint, cinnamon, clove, etc- check with a doc or midwife if you are pregnant)

Instructions

  1. Melt the coconut oil until just barely liquid.
  2. Remove from heat and add essential oils.
  3. Pour into silicon candy molds and put in the fridge or freezer to harden.
  4. When done, remove from molds and store in a jar.
  5. Use one per day as needed for oil pulling.

There are a long list of benefits to oil pulling, and adding an Essential Oil improves an already great oral care remedy. For people who are trying to eliminate Fluoride from their lives, oil pulling is a great alternative to traditional toothpaste. Using coconut oil, Essential Oils and a few other ingredients you can also make your own toothpaste leaving over the counter products behind. Making a few small changes in your day can have great positive changes on your health.

young-living-essential-oil-weight-loss-protocol-2-638

Leave a Reply

